Picking Up Where I Left Off

Oh, how I’ve missed you, Powerful Belief.

I’m sorry everyone. I’ve been neglecting my duties as a blogger lately. This is my final semester of college (woohoo!) and I’ve been busy with classes, working, and my internship at Destination Weddings & Honeymoons magazine. It’s not an excuse to cut back on my positive thinking posts, but I’ve been distracted.

I’m writing weekly blog posts for DWH, for whatever it’s worth. You can check out my first two by clicking here and here! I’m having the time of my life doing it. It gets to the point where I don’t want to leave my desk and go home. I’d rather keep writing and researching weddings/honeymoons all day long. Can you blame me?

It’s time for us to get to the good stuff, though. It’s time to talk about powerful beliefs.

write

I’m writing this post for any other writers or bloggers out there, but feel free to interpret as needed to fit your life. Everything I write can easily be translated into another dream or goal, even if it isn’t the same as mine.

I want to talk about one piece of valuable advice I’ve received as a writer. It’s the one that keeps me going and keeps me striving to be better. I first heard it in Anne Lamott’s novel Bird by Bird. It goes something like this:

If you want to be a writer, just write. Write regularly, whether you feel like it or not.

The only way to be a better writer is if you keep on writing. There will be days where you can barely muster up the courage to put words on paper (or computer screen), but the only way to get better is by doing it. That’s why I’m writing this post today. I want to constantly practice, even if I’m just writing a little blog post like this one. It’s the act of doing it that sends out the positive energy.

If blogging is your passion, never stop blogging on a regular basis. It can be tough to see the purpose of our efforts. We can’t see the bigger picture of how it will pay off in the long run. Trust me when I say that it will. Every minute of practice is making you better than you were before.

If you aren’t a writer, switch out writer/blogger for whatever it is that  you wish to be. If you want to be a computer programmer, get to programming. If you want to be a yoga instructor, do some yoga. It’s simple advice, but sometimes we need the reminder.

This is my little introduction to getting back to blogging regularly. I hope to get back to my minimum of two posts a week. If you’re a writer/blogger, what’s the best advice you’ve been given? Share it with me. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

