New Year, New You

2013

A sense of refreshment usually comes with the new year. We made it through the past 12 months and earned another chance at life. Feelings of hope for the future begin to emerge.

Some people use that newfound hope to establish New Year’s resolutions. This is a positive way of thinking, of course, but is it realistic? It takes serious dedication and constant reminders to stick with one resolution for an entire year. I don’t have a well-researched statistic for you, but in my own experience, my resolution failure rate is around 100%.

There has never been a year when I created a New Year’s resolution and followed through with it completely.

If you’ve created a resolution and stuck with it, I envy you, but here’s my view on things:¬†Resolutions are often forgotten.

They begin with full intentions of being followed. Then March or April comes around. We have another set of goals in mind and start to let it slip. By the time December arrives, I have no clue what my New Year’s resolution even was.

But that doesn’t mean I didn’t grow as a person.

I often reflect on where I was last year at this time, and realize that I would never make the same mistakes I made then. I learned and experienced things that will never be forgotten. So, here’s my proposition for the year of 2013:

Use this new year to become a new you.

And by “a new you,” I mean a better you. Our core values and experiences will always be there, but we can use this new year to become a better person than we were before. It’s a great feeling to look back and see how much you’ve grown.

This doesn’t require one specific goal or resolution. All you have to do is be sure to grow and evolve. Don’t be afraid of changes. Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone. Some of our most powerful experiences in life will occur from things that we never saw coming.

I don’t know where this year will take me, but I’m hoping that at the end of it, I will yet again feel like a new person. What can you do this year to become a new you? Leave a comment.

 

Leave a Reply

