What If Failure Was Not An Option?

I was laying down on my couch two nights ago, drinking a glass of wine and watching the movie New Years Eve. Josh Duhamel, being the beautiful man he is, gave a speech near the end of the movie. I don’t remember all of the speech. I was probably distracted by his good looks, but there was one climactic part that clearly stood out.

He (and by “he” I mean Sam, the man Duhamel plays) quotes his late father, who used to always say things like this:

new-years-eve-josh-duhamel

“What would you do today, if you knew you would not fail? Then go out & do it.”

That quote struck a chord in me.

It’s a simple question to ask yourself. What would you do today, if you knew you would not fail? I’m sure you could easily come up with a number of answers. I, personally, would write a nonfiction or self-help novel. If I already knew that the book wouldn’t be a complete failure, I’d start writing it and continually push for publication. So why haven’t I done it yet?

Because fear of failure holds me back, and this fear is in all of us.

We fear that we aren’t good enough, and we don’t possess enough talent. We’re afraid that we’ll look stupid for trying to accomplish something difficult. Failure means being completely unsuccessful, so it makes sense that we would be afraid of it.

But let me remind you of one thing…

Fear is imaginary. We make it up in our minds.

So, technically, fear of failure is also made up. We are the only ones that create the possibility of failure. We are also the only ones who can decide, for good, that failure is not an option in our lives. This is where the second part of that quote comes into play.

Answer the question, then go out and do it. 

Treat failure like it isn’t even an option. Know deep down inside that you will not fail, and it will be true. Believe me when I say that fear is imaginary, and go out and start whatever you wish to accomplish in life.

I know I will write a nonfiction novel one day, and it will be successful. That day might not be today, but it will come. Today, I’m going to work on my other writing projects and know that they will not be failures.

Leave a comment and answer that question for me, what would you do if you knew you would not fail?

Leave a Reply

